Jenni Vartiainen

20.03.1983

Jenni Vartiainen

Short Discography

En haluu kuolla tänä yönä in English is “I Don’t Wanna Die Tonight”. It is a single from her album Seili (Sea?).  It is written by Finnish rapper Mariska and composed by Jenni Vertiainen and Jukka Immonen. This song was released on February the 1st in 2010. En haluu kuolla tänä yönä had received an Emma award for song of the year. In 2010 had over 5,200 plays on radio and was the most played song on commercial Finnish radio stations in.

My interpretation of the meaning of the song

I think Jenni is trying to say let her live for that day or night without dying or without killing her mood sort of speak. “Just now the going has started to taste like life” She has having fun and enjoying her youth before she has to take life by the reigns and start to take responsibility like she says in the song by “sobering up”.

In the video of her song she is dancing and smiling. I think she is trying to portray the youthfulness and not wanting it to vanish just for that night, for that moment.

The Artist

Jenni was born in Kuopio Finland and is now 30 years old. She just had a new song come out which I was excited for. The song is called Junat ja naiset after her two year break from the new album called Terra. She was an ice skater her teenage years and also was in a band called Gimmel after winning The Finnish talent show Popstars in October 2002. She started her solo career in April 2007. She had success with her first album Ihmisten edessä, going gold in Finland. Vartiainen did really well with her second album Seili being ranked the 14th all-time best-sellers in Finland with the song En haluu kuolla tänä yönä. Vartiainen has great achievements with nine Emma Awards. With all this success she still stays humble and keeps a low-profile life.

Photo:

Jenni on stage.

Jenni

Jenni’s Recent Album Cover. Terra.

 

 

 

Music Video:

 

 

 

 

Finnish Words

  • Ensimmäinen sooloalbuminsa – First solo Album
  • Kappaleet Tunnoton – Track number
  • Lauloi – Sang
  • Keikkaa – Gig/Show
  • Lava – Stage
  • Musiikki – Music
  • Laulaja – Singer
  • Kaunis – Beautiful
  • Albumi – Album
  • Julkaistiin – Released/Published

 

 

 

Lyrics

 

Finnish:

En Haluu Kuolla Tänä Yönä

Pelkään panna silmät kiinni jos ne eivät aukeekkaan
Aamulla kuin aina ennen jäisin siihen makaamaan
Enkä voisi kättä nostaa saati pysty sanomaan

Mä en haluu kuolla tänä yönä
Mä en haluu kuolla tänä yönä

Olen kesken en siis lainkaan valmis täältä poistumaan
Juuri kun on meno käynyt elämältä maistumaan
Mulla olis yksi toive, yksi pieni pyyntö vaan

Mä en haluu kuolla tänä yönä
Mä en haluu kuolla tänä yönä

Lupaan lukea raamatun ja raitistun
Jos saan aikaa se varmasti onnistuu
Muttei tänä yönä
Jäköön taakseni syntinen entinen
Pystyn muuttumaan vielä mä tiedän sen
Muttei tänä yönä

Annathan siis katsoo vielä miltä näyttää huominen
Niin mä teen mun parhaani et oisin hyvä ihminen
Tiedän että kuulet tämän pyyntöni mun rukouksen

Mä en haluu kuolla tänä yönä

 

 

English:

 

I don’t want to die tonight

I’m afraid to close my eyes in case I can’t open them again
I’d stay there laying in the morning like before
And I couldn’t raise my arm or say a word

I don’t want to die tonight
I don’t want to die tonight

I’m unfinished so definitely not ready to leave here
Just now the going has started to taste like life
I just have one wish, one small request

I don’t want to die tonight
I don’t want to die tonight

I promise to read the Bible and I’ll become sober
If can start I’m sure I can do it
But not tonight
Let the sinful life be left behind me
I can still change, I know
But not tonight

So please let me see what tomorrow is like
And I will do my best to be a good person
I know you can hear this request, my prayer

I don’t want to die tonight

 

 

 

 

Bibliography

https://www.facebook.com/jennivartiainenofficial/info

http://www.jennivartiainen.fi

http://www.twitter.com/jennivartiainen

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jenni_Vartiainen

http://lyricstranslate.com/en/en-haluu-kuolla-taenae-yoenae-i-dont-want-die-tonight.html#BBGo5GfCY0EuJVh4.99

http://lyricstranslate.com

English

 

•Blog Soon! •

Let me know how you feel, my friend :)

